International Joint Commission (IJC)
More than a century of cooperation protecting shared waters

The Commissioners

Canada and the United States each appoint three of the six IJC Commissioners, including one chair from each country. The two chairs serve concurrently.

The Commissioners are appointed by the highest level of government in each country, but once appointed they do not represent the national governments; they operate at arm's length.

The Commissioners traditionally work by consensus to find solutions that are in the best interest of both countries. The Commissioners are supported by U.S. and Canadian Section offices in Washington, D.C. and Ottawa, Ontario.

Canadian Section

Commissioner Gordon Walker Commissioner Bouchard Commissioner Morgan
Gordon Walker
Benoît Bouchard

Richard A. Morgan



U.S. Section

Lana Pollack, Chair Rich Moy, Commissioner
Lana Pollack

Rich Moy